Monday, February 1, 2010

The 2nd KL Junior Chess Championship

This weekend (30 th & 31st January 2010), GiLoCatur was at Cochrane Sports Excellence Center chaperoning the three kids - Fikri, Anis Fariha and Fahim Al-Faqeh, who were participating in the 2nd KL Junior Chess Championship. The total number of 181 Malaysian young chess players participated in five (5) categories - Under 20, Under 14, Under 12 and Under 10. All except Under 20 have both the boys and girls section. The six round tournament was organized by KL Teachers Chess Association headed by Cikgu Suhairi.

The format of the tournament is Swiss System of six rounds. The time control is 60 minutes or simply G/60. According to chess definition, the chess type played is standard or classic. It is not rapid or blitz. For GiLoCatur, the tournament is a warm up for the National Age Group or NAG that will be held in Penang during the March mid-term school break. Thus, all the three GiLoCatur's kids were playing in their respective age group category. Fikri or simply known as "Abang", a form two schooler, was playing in Under 14 Boys section along with Tan Wei Hao, Albert Ang Keliang and Chong Yan Meng.

Anis or "Kakak" as her family normally refer to, was the top seed in Under 12 Girls category. She was among 12 participants in the category. While the eight-year-old Fahim, called "Adik" at home, was among 57 participants in Under 10 Boys. He was supposed to play in Under 8 category, but maybe due to the small number in the category he had to join Tan Yong Zhao along with his 7-year old schoolmate, Muhammad Faqih Aminuddin and Muhammad Zarif Aiman, the son of Muhammad Arshad.

The breakdown statistics of the participant are : U20 (25), U14 Boys (20), U14 Girls (10), U12 Boys (47), U12 Girls (12), U10 Boys (57) and U10 Girls (10).

Do you want to know who are the champions? Below are the champions as per what GiLoCatur remembers. Basically, such results are the unofficial one.

U20 - Muhammad Izz Shaifuddin
U14 Boys - Fikri Saleh
U14 Girls - Paviteanayagi a/p Jayamurthy
U12 Boys - Dilwen Ding Tze How
U12 Girls - Nur Sabrina Aliya Asman
U10 Boys - Tan Yong Zhao
U10 Girls - Mok Shu Zing

No comments: